My Little Book of Hygge

Our blog post comes from our Administration Manager Caroline about an inspiring little book.

Recently when travelling to Rome, my husband and I decided to buy a book in the airport and I stumbled across a book that has genuinely made me feel happy, or should I say has made me feel hygge!

You might be wondering what language I am using or what the word ‘hygge’ means or perhaps how it is even pronounced! From reading the book it is pronounced hooga and if I was to summarise what the word means in my own words, I would say happiness and comfort!

For many people books bring them a lot of happiness and possibly comfort too but this book has genuinely brought me happiness and comfort. It is all about the Danish way to live well and according to Meik Wiking (the author) he has provided examples within the book to show that Danes are 1 of the happiest people in the world which he puts down to one thing, which I’m sure you guessed it, it’s hygge! He goes on to explain why he thinks Danish people are the most happiest.

Throughout the book it refers to what the word hygge means and throws in another few words like hyggeligt and hyggekrog or hyggestund. You get the idea here that it’s all words that explain a hygge situation. The situations are all ones we have been in or can imagine the feeling when you are in them but it brings a brand new word to explain it.

It covers a lot of things including food, lighting, candles, loved ones and much more, even giving some hygge recipes!

Below is a few paragraphs from the book to give you an idea:

“Hygge has been translated as everything from ‘the art of creating intimacy’ to ‘cosiness of the soul’ to ‘taking pleasure from the presence of soothing things’. My personal favourite ‘cocoa by candlelight’.”

“You know hygge when you feel it. It is when you are cuddled up on the sofa with a loved one, or sharing comfort food with your closest friends.”

The book was so inspiring it has encouraged me to be more hygge and start a gratitude journal, which according to the book brings you more happiness as you feel more grateful for the small things in life.

I hope by writing this small blog it encourages you to maybe buy the book or perhaps just look up the word hygge and be more hygge yourself.

I hope you have a hyggelig day!

Caroline

Leave a Reply

