Staff Post: Santa Claus Is Coming To Town!

Christmas is coming round quickly, bringing all the excitement and buzz of getting things ready in time for Santa!

Christmas is one of my favourite holidays of the year. It’s when you can get together with loved ones and just have a good time! Playing old board games, pictionary or charades, there is something about this joyful season that makes me happy!

I also love watching some cheesy Christmas films! From Home Alone to Tom & Jerry, they all mean Christmas to me. One of my favourites is Twas the night before Christmas, when poor Jerry is out in the cold and Tom brings him inside to ‘defrost’ him by the fire! My favourite all time Christmas film is Miracle on 34th Street.

For me there is something very magical about every bit of Christmas.

One of my earliest memories of Christmas is getting put into my bed on Christmas Eve, when I was around 5 or 6 years old. After the light went out in my bedroom, I tip-toed out of my bed to look out the bedroom window…all I remember was desperately wishing to see Santa and his sleigh with all his reindeers going past the moon! I remember wishing so hard to see it so that I could tell my friends! A bit like this picture:

image002

This year for Christmas I bought a new Christmas tree, which I think looks pretty nice.

image003

I love decorating the house for Christmas and I normally get the festive music on just to make me feel super Christmassy. I would decorate every room if I could!

I also got my little dog Buddy a Christmas outfit this year – Buddy the Elf! Not sure he’s that keen on it though!

image005

He eventually came around, think it’s just the hood he doesn’t like! Maybe it can be on the front of our family Christmas card?

image008

I was super organised this year and got all my Christmas presents bought in around the middle of October. My logic is, if I get all my shopping done before the mad rush, I can just look forward to Christmas time without the stress.

This year for Christmas, Mark, Buddy and I are having Christmas away from home – we are going to a lodge down beside Wemyss Bay! We head down there as soon as I finish work on 23rd December for a week, I can’t wait. The lodge itself it’s a gorgeous place, nice cosy fire, and big bay windows to look out over the water. Let’s hope Santa knows where to find me!

A few friends and family love my chocolate cake that I have made lots of times, so I have decided to bake a few cakes for them. To go with the festive theme, I bought a little Christmas tree mould to bake the sponge in and then the chocolate icing on top with some decorations to hopefully make it look like a Christmas tree. Hope they don’t blame me for those extra lbs they put on!

I hope everyone in the Pexel office is excited about who they got for their Secret Santa. I have mine already, very excited about this gift!

I think this season also makes me realise how lucky I am to have a home and food, which is why Mark and I like to give to the food bank to help the people that struggle. Even if it is something small, it will help people in a big way.

One of our fieldworkers, Gil Lobato has organised a donation box for the food bank this year. It is in unit 28 and I think it’s an amazing idea, so please, if you can give a little, it would be greatly appreciated!

On a final note, I want to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! I hope you all have a lovely time off work when it comes and make time to spend with your loved ones.

Lots of Love and Christmas Hugs

Caroline x

Merry Christmas!

Hae a braw Christmas!

Yuletide Blessings!

Joyeux Noël!

Feliz Navidad!

Selamat Hari Natal!

Frohe Weihnachten!

Veselé Vánoce!

Buon Natale!

Written by Caroline Rielly: Project Administrator

Leave a Reply

